Top 10 beauty products of 2013

IMG_8351

IMG_8382 IMG_8389 IMG_8380

IMG_8395

Tarte Amazonian 12-Hour Blush in ‘Exposed’

I have loved it ever since I got it as a Christmas present in 2012 from a relative who had travelled to USA. It gives a natural colour to the cheeks, a dusty rose tint and lasts throughout the whole day. Unfortunately, i’m not sure where you can get it in Australia. So if you are able to get your hands on it, please do!

Origins Plantscription Anti-ageing concealer ’02’ (Light Medium) – $26.00 from Kit Cosmetics 

I always have issues with the consistency of concealers, it’s either too dry or too liquid. This one is just nice for me, quite creamy and covers most imperfections. However, it feels a little too heavy for covering my under eyes.

Origins High Potency Night-A-Mins cream – $59.00 from Kit Cosmetics

This cream has been part of my nightly routine for the last 3 years. I love how moisturised and supple my skin feels in the morning. It has a pleasant, zesty orange scent. It’s consistency is quite thick but isn’t too greasy, lovely for my generally normal but sometimes flaky skin.

Origins GinZing moisturiser -$44.00 from Kit Cosmetics 

Feels great on the skin alone or even under makeup, also has the same orange scent as the Origins High Potency Night-A-Mins cream. It’s my perfect daily moisturiser.

Indeed Laboratories Hydraluron – $34.99 from Priceline

This serum is absolutely amazing, especially during winter! It contains hyaluronic acid which helps to revive dehydrated skin. I apply a small amount all over my face, just before my day and night moisturiser. It has definitely helped to reduce my flaky skin with continued use.

Clinique Lash Power mascara long wearing formula ’01’ (Black onyx) – $38.00 available at the Clinique counter in Myer, also available from their site 

I have really excessively oily eyelids, normal mascara and even waterproof mascara smudges on me. This is the ONLY mascara that has not failed me due to its tubing formulation. It’s also really easy to remove, warm water and a little bit of my cleanser is all it needs. Although it’s easy to remove, it is able to last throughout the whole day. I’ve even worn it to the Big Day Out music festival in 40 degree weather!! Not a single budge or smudge. It’s lengthening and I can wear it all day without having to worry about looking like a raccoon.

Mario Badescu Drying Lotion – $26.95 from Kit Cosmetics

I’ve tried the Origins Super Spot Remover gel several times and despite the opinions of many other beauty bloggers, it doesn’t quite do the job for my pimples. However, the Drying Lotion certainly does the trick for me! Simply dip a cotton bud into the pink sediment and dab onto pimples. It does leave a pinkish white mark on your pimples, which is why I apply it just before I go to sleep and wash it off the next morning.

Kate Somerville Gentle Daily Wash – $36 from Mecca Cosmetica 

This facial cleansing wash is gentle, smells of lavender and is able to remove pretty much all of my makeup without needing me to scrub or tug on my face and eyes. If I ever have stubborn eye makeup, i’ll usually use Bioderma after cleansing.

Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation (5.5) – $90 from Myer

I know the price is ridiculous but this foundation is seriously worth it. It gives a nice, natural glow but doesn’t make you look oily. The coverage is very buildable and ideal for flash photography at night since there is no SPF in its formulation. I like to apply this with my Real Techniques Expert Face brush.

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Lipstick ‘Raven’ -$42 from Mecca Cosmetica

It’s a liquid lipstick that certainly lives up to its name of being opaque. It dries matte and delivers long lasting wear, which is what i LOVE! I don’t need to worry about it smudging all over my face or reapplying it throughout the day.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 beauty products of 2013”

Leave a Reply

